Hello and thanks for the public forum!

Hi.
I have been wearing glasses for about 30 years. As of this past December (2023):
Glasses:
Right. Sph: -6.5, Cyl: -1.0, Axis: 006
Left . Sph: -6.0, Cyl: -1.5, Axis: 153
Contacts:
Right Sph: -6.0
Left Sph: -6.0

I noticed last time at the eye doctor how worried he was about increasing my cyl until I mentioned buying contacts. After, he didn’t care anymore when he could sell me some daily use contacts for swimming. This made me question what was really needed. After using my contacts a few times a week without cyl for a few months, I noticed that a lot of the blur that I had before started to go away. This made me question if I could improve my eyes, and I started to search.

I have been researching methods to reduce my lens for over a month now. I have tried some of the Bates stuff first and it did help at least with my eye strain. I noticed that my eyes were very tight and they helped with that. I started measuring my cm myself. At the start, I was at 16.5-17.5 cm. Now I am closer to 17.5-22cm. This measurement is about the same for both eyes. So I am seeing improvement. I have been practicing active focus. I found print-pushing to be easier to start with than distance-pulling. However, it is getting easier for both now and more automatic.

I got my first pair of close-up glasses (diffs) about a week ago.
Close-up glasses:
Right: Sph -5.0, Cyl -1.0, Axis 006
Left: Sph -4.5, Cyl -1.5, Axis 153
They seem to help a lot with eye strain.

Looking forward to my first set of reduced-distance glasses.