Aiming for no glasses by 40

Hey there! I have been doing a bunch of reading on reduced lens since summer of 2023. I worked on finding active focus first because i was skeptical. Well, I found it! and even without a pair of differentials, I started using active focus on distance vision with my full correction.

I noticed after a few weeks that clarity had improved on distance. Still without differentials, I paid more attention to my screen time, (yes using full distance lenses, eww!) taking frequent breaks to go walk laps around my office building.

These things made me at least much more happy with my current glasses for distance, as before they had crept into blur for reasons the wiki explains well.

Now I was convinced this was a feasible plan to actually do some good things for my eyes. I have worn glasses since 1997. For 20 years I continued getting stronger minus lenses, with around 80 percent of my current strength lenses occuring from close work reading for schoolwork AND I blame the Harry Potter books! LOL. When I graduated high school and went off to college (USA) I did much much less close reading, and my minus lens strength increases slowed considerably. Then around six years ago I made a fortunate decision to decline further increases. For the past six years I have held constant on my distance correction.

So here I am at my starting point for reducing my myopia. 26 years of glasses and contact lens wearing. I now only wear contacts if glasses are going to be a challenge, such as while doing mechanical repairs on my automobiles. During my last eye exam, I asked my doctor for “computer glasses”. Her formula for “computer glasses” is to remove 0.75 diopters from 20/20. I asked if we could instead tailor it to arms length, which I now know to be approximately 1.5 diopters. She told me she “knew what she was doing” and that if I had to sit too close to the screen that the lenses could be remade two times.